About Humanities

Our Vision

to become a centre of excellence in creation and dissemination of knowledge for sustainable development

Our Mission

to nurture intellectual citizens through creativity and innovation, who contribute to the national development

Message from the Dean

The Faculty of Humanities of University of Kelaniya is unique for being the only independent Faculty in Sri Lanka, reserved separately for the field of Humanities. Our Faculty consists of ten departments which offer languages, religions, and fine arts as the main subject streams.

The academic tradition and the history of the Faculty of Humanities date back to the inception of the Vidyalankara Pirivena. The Vidyalankara Higher Educational centre was established in 1875 by the initiative of The Most Venerable Sri Dharmaloka Thero and eventually it was upgraded as the Vidyalankara University in 1959. The Most Venerable Kiriwaththuduwe Sri Pangnasara Thero was the first Vice Chancellor of the Vidyalankara University. Today, the former faculties of the Vidyalankara Pirivena, the Faculty of Languages, the Faculty of Buddhism, and the Faculty of Arts come under the aegis of the Faculty of Humanities. I invite you to browse our Website to learn more about our programmes.
Dr. Sudath Senarath
Dean, Faculty of Humanities,
University of Kelaniya.

Centers & Units
Academic Staff

Physical Resources of the Faculty of Humanities


Auditorium and Lecture Halls of K14 Building


Audiovisual Laboratories


Computer Laboratories


Research Centre for Japanese Studies

Studying at Humanities

The Faculty of Humanities consists of eleven departments and offers languages, religions, and fine arts as main subject streams.

Image Gallery

©2024 University of Kelaniya - Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Faculty of Humanities